DIY | HOW TO REVIVE YOUR OLD WEAVES 

Happy weekend guys, so I was thinking of what to do with my old, tangled weave and I decided to try and wash it. I actually thought I was going to ruin it but the result wasn’t so bad.

Sorry I forgot to take pictures before washing but this is how it looked like after I washed it:

So I’ll just take you through the step by step procedure.

What you’ll need:

1. A bucket or bowl

2. Moisturizing shampoo

3. Wide tooth comb

4. Leave in conditioner

5. Deep conditioner

6. Zip lock bag or plastic bag

7. Towel or plain t-shirt

Steps:

1. Detangle- The first thing I did was to detangle the weave with the wide tooth comb. This is very important as you don’t want the tip to be in a knot by the time you put it in water. Take your time to do this because it’ll affect the entire process.

2. Shampoo- The next step is to wash the weave. Put the weave in a lukewarm water with the weft facing up, apply your shampoo and gently rub into the hair (rub in a downward motion). I strongly recommend cream based/ moisturizing shampoo.

3. Pat dry with the towel or t-shirt

4. Deep Condition- Apply a very generous amount of deep conditioner on the weave.

5. Put the weave in a zip lock bag or plastic bag and leave it for at least 12 hours or more (I left mine for 24 hours)

6. Rinse out the deep conditioner in lukewarm water and repeat step 3.

7. Apply leave in conditioner then leave to air dry.

8. Optional –  Trim the tip of the weave to give it a better look. You can also use a straightener to stretch the hair or flexible rods to roll hair to get curls.

Final result

P.s you could soak your weave in Apple cider vinegar before washing. It’ll help to remove dirts and buildups. I didn’t have any, so I just went straight to the washing part.

Thank you for stopping by, I really appreciate the love. Have a fun filled weekend and I’ll see you very soon.

Goodie. xoxo

Leave a Reply

